By reuvenveksler
April 21, 2021
1 min read

What is the mosh hardness scale?

What is the mosh hardness scale?

The Mohs Hardness scale serves as an easy and convenient way to identify a mineral’s hardness, its ability to resist scratches.

How did it all start?

In 1812, Fredrich Mohs – a German mineralogist – invented «scale of hardness». He chose ten standard minerals and arranged them in order of increasing hardness (from 1 – the softest to 10 – the hardest), so that each stone scratches the one below it on the scale, but failed to scratch the one above it.

For instance, talc is the softest mineral and diamond is the hardest one.

As for gems, the Mohs scale ranks them on a relative scale based on their hardness. So, a diamond is on the 10th level. Only a diamond can scratch another diamond.

Corundum (ruby or sapphire) is on the 9th level – it can scratch itself, topaz (8), quartz (7), and anything softer.

Topaz can scratch itself, quartz (7), and anything lower on the scale.

Subscribe to discover the world of diamonds and gems. If you have any questions, please let us know.

More education center articles

View all

It appears as though variations have existed in the planet since its inception. Little has changed in the twenty-first century: inflation and economic…

ByMargarita Gridneva
May 14, 2024
7 min read

Prior to the middle of the 20th century, diamonds could not be evaluated using any standard. Diamond 4C, the first widely recognized global…

May 01, 2024
2 min read

You’re considering custom-made diamond stud earrings. Where should you begin? How can you design the finest diamond studs that perfectly suit your preferences…

January 31, 2023
6 min read